Skip navigation

Day 355/365 -I love to sing!

Singing is my favorite thing to do.

However, singing was a very scary thing for me to do in the beginning. Those who have known me longest and best will know that my mom is THE singer of all singers. Every church my mom sang at, my siblings and I were asked by strangers, “Do you sing too???” I can’t speak for my brothers and sister, but this intimidated me SO MUCH. We would always just shake our heads “No” when people asked us about it. Mom never pressured us to sing, which was great. And my sister must not have been as scared as I was, because she began singing at church and in choirs pretty early on. But for me…I just couldn’t.

It wasn’t until I was 21 and living in South Carolina, that I finally sang in public. I don’t really know how it happened. My sister had a CD accompaniment track to a song that was meant for two people, and she knew my brother-in-law’s voice wouldn’t be well-suited to this song. She asked me if I would sing it with her, even though I’m pretty certain she hadn’t heard me sing much, even in private, because I was so self-conscious about it. However, that certain something within me made me say “Yes” to my sister and I made my debut, singing a duet with her at the church were attending at the time. It was definitely a defining moment in my life.

I could go on and on about singing, but just suffice it to say: once I started singing, I’ve never been able to stop.

Leave a Reply

