Skip navigation

Day 280/365 – I love unexpected reminders of childhood!

I was at work, minding my own business, when I saw this mug hanging on the pegboard at Muddy’s. I had the suspicion that I’d seen the dishware pattern on this mug before. It took me a second to remember, but we definitely had this set of dishes when I was growing up! I remember that my mom had a “country blue and mauve” (two colors I feel are obsolete and would not be included in anyone’s vernacular these days) kitchen, and we had these dishes to match the motif. It’s so crazy. I know now how people who come into Muddy’s feel when they see that we have a plate that’s just like their grandmother’s China. Except, ya know, this isn’t China as much as “the dishes my mom got from the supermarket.”

Leave a Reply

