Skip navigation

Day 95/365 – I love realizing “Whoops! I collect pipes now!”


I bought two pipes a couple of weeks ago, originally as props for a photo shoot I have in mind for a certain friend. When I was shopping for the props, I began to develop a fondness for pipes. By the time I left the antique store, I thought “Hmmmm. I might have to start collecting pipes.”

I went back to the antique store on 95/365 to look for another pipe to use as a prop and ended up coming away with two instead. And I’m pretty in love with those latest two. They have so much character. It’s like any well-used object you find. You can tell where the previous owners’ hands wore down certain spots on the pipes. I can think about these pipes being used by someone, maybe on a daily basis. In my imagination, these pipes were kept in the inside pocket worn by an older gentlemen, and smoked while enjoying a drink in the evening.

Then again, I’ve been known to be prone to flights of imaginative fancy.

One Comment

  1. yes, yes, yes!
    pipes have that effect on me, too!


Leave a Reply

